Manchester City became the first team to win the English league title four seasons in a row after beating West Ham 3-1 at Etihad Stadium.

Needing a win to be sure of holding off Arsenal, who started the final day two points behind but with a better goal difference, their win completed a staggering run of 19 wins and four draws since their last defeat in the league, at Aston Villa on 6 December. England star, Phil Foden, put Pep Guardiola’s side ahead after just two minutes, before adding another just short of the break and, although Mohammed Kudus pulled one back, midfielder Rodri restored the home side's two-goal cushion with a shot from the edge of the area after 59 minutes.

Their victory was never seriously in doubt, with the champions surviving a late scare when West Ham had a second goal ruled out by VAR for handball. City have now won six out of the past seven Premier League titles.

Last term, they joined Huddersfield, Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester United, twice, in winning the topflight three years in a row. Guardiola’s team have now achieved something no other men's side has managed since the English league was formed in 1888, 136 years ago.

They now will be aiming to become the first side to complete the domestic double in successive seasons when they face Manchester United in the FA Cup final at Wembley on Saturday. And, for Foden, 23 - who now has six titles to his name - it’s another success, having collected the Football Writers’ Association and Premier League Player of the Year awards this season, and, for many, is expecting a clean sweep of personal awards when the Professional Footballers' Association eventually confirms theirs.

Guardiola, though, in typical fashion, feels that there is further improvement in the England international to be made. For City, they haven’t lost at home all season, so any home anxiety that exist against West Ham was rapidly swept away - only some bad luck and West Ham keeper Alphonse Areola prevented the Hammers being completely swept away early on.

He has now won 12 league titles in 15 seasons as a manager, 16 years if you include the sabbatical he took when he left Barcelona in 2012.