Usain Bolt, the greatest sprinter of all-time, heads the sporting legends attending this year’s Laureus World Sports Awards, the most prestigious honours event on the international sporting calendar.

The Jamaican super star, famous for his trademark victory lightning bolt pose, won four Laureus Awards in his spectacular career in which he won eight Olympic and 11 World Championship gold medals between 2008 and 2016. Now Usain is back at Laureus to join many of the biggest names in sport, past and present, who will be in Madrid on April 22, paying tribute to the achievements of the greatest sportsmen and sportswomen of the year.

The Laureus Awards typically attract the widest spread of stars from different sport across the board, emphasising their reputation as ‘The Athletes Awards’. Among the tennis stars attending will be two-time Spanish Grand Slam champion Garbiñe Muguruza, Katie Boulter, Alex de Minaur, Elena Rybakina and, fresh from victory at the Monte-Carlo Masters, Stefanos Tsitsipas.

Laureus World Action Sportsperson of the Year Nominees and skateboarding sensations Arisa Trew and Rayssa Leal will also be in Madrid, together with Action Nominee and Brazilian surfer Filipe Toledo, MMA star Ilia Topuria and many other current sporting stars. They are joined by a classic collection of some of the greatest footballers ever to play the game – all members of the Laureus World Sports Academy: Brazil’s World Cup legend Cafu, Italian goalscoring phenomenon Alessandro Del Piero, former captain of France and World Cup winner Marcel Desailly, Portugal’s Luis Figo, who played for FC Barcelona and Real Madrid, Dutch master Ruud Gullit, and the great Raúl, star of Real Madrid and Spain.  

Also present will be Atletico Madrid star and Argentina World Cup winner Rodrigo De Paul, classy defender Patrice Evra, who played 81 times for France, and Fabio Capello, coach of AC Milan, Real Madrid, Roma, Juventus as well as national sides England and Russia. The six Nominees for Laureus World Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability will also be at the Awards in the Spanish capital, including New Zealand cyclist Nicole Murray, para swimmers Danylo Chufarov and Simone Barlaam, Hungarian para athlete Luca Ekler, German long jumper Markus Rehm and wheelchair tennis great Diede de Groot.

This is the 25th edition of the Laureus Awards – now regarded as the ‘Athletes’ Awards’ due to the unique selection process and the regard in which they are held by sportsmen and women at all levels. The responsibility of selecting the Winners falls to the Members of the Laureus World Sports Academy – legends of sport who are best-placed to appreciate the unique stories and achievements of the Nominees selected in each category by a panel of over 1,300 top sports media.

This is the first time the Laureus Awards have been held in Madrid and Spanish sporting legend Miguel Indurain joins Raúl among the Academy Members present on Monday, April 22 at the Palacio de Cibeles, one of the Spanish capital’s most iconic buildings. Other Academy Members who will share in the celebrations include tennis icon Martina Navratilova, Academy Chairman and rugby legend Sean Fitzpatrick, gymnastic great Nadia Comaneci. Among those joining Nominees and sports stars as well as sports fans from fashion, film and entertainment are:

Football: Cafu, Fabio Capello, Alessandro Del Piero, Rodrigo De Paul, Marcel Desailly, Patrice Evra, Luis Figo, Ruud Gullit, Raúl

Athletics: Usain Bolt, Nawal El Moutawakel, Jessica Ennis-Hill, Michael Johnson, Edwin Moses, Tanni Grey-Thompson

Rugby: Sean Fitzpatrick (Chairman), Bryan Habana, Hugo Porta, Siya Kolisi

Skiing: Maria Hőfl-Riesch, Franz Klammer, Alberto Tomba, Lindsey Vonn

Cycling: Fabian Cancellara, Miguel Indurain                   

Tennis: Martina Navratilova, Boris Becker, Garbiñe Muguruza, Alex de Minaur, Katie Boulter, Elena Rybakina, Stefanos Tsitsipas

Gymnastics: Nadia Comaneci, Li Xiaopeng                     

MMA: Ilia Topuria

Motor Cycling: Giacomo Agostini, Jorge Lorenzo

Motor Racing: Sophia Flörsch

Para Athletics: Markus Rehm, Luca Ekler

Para Cycling: Nicole Murray

Para Swimming: Danylo Chufarov, Simone Barlaam, Daniel Dias  

Rowing: Steve Redgrave      

Squash: Nicol David         

Skateboarding: Arisa Trew, Rayssa Leal

Speed Skating: Yang Yang

Hockey: Luciana Aymar 

Sailing: Kirsten Neuschäfer     

Surfing: Filipe Toledo

Wheelchair Tennis: Diede de Groot

While celebrating the greatest sporting successes of the year, the Laureus World Sports Awards also showcases the work of Laureus Sport for Good, which uses the power of sport to end violence, discrimination and inequality, showing how sport can change the world. Today Laureus supports more than 260 programmes in over 45 countries, working to transform society and improve the lives of young people.

Since its inception in 2000, Laureus Sport for Good has used the power of sport to improve the lives of more than six-and-a-half million children and young adults. The impact of the Awards is a key element to both the planning and delivery of the 2024 event.

Working closely with both Host Partners, Madrid City Council and the Regional Government of Madrid, Laureus will bring the expertise and support of Laureus Sport for Good to leave a lasting legacy for the young people of the city and region of Madrid.