Electronic tourist visas (e-TVs) will be extended to citizens of 37 more countries from Friday, taking the total number to 150. The new additions are Albania, Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Cape Verde, Comoros, Cote d’lvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Eritrea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Iceland, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Moldova, Namibia, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Swaziland, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad & Tobago, Zambia and Zimbabwe, an official statement said.

TVoA (tourist visa on arrival), enabled by electronic travel authorisation, popularly known as the e-tourist visa scheme, was launched on November 27, 2014. Since then, more than 7.5 lakh such visas have been issued. At present, on an average, 3,500 e-TVs are granted daily.

A official estimate says that from January to November in 2015, 3,41,683 tourists arrived on e-TVs from just 24,963 during the corresponding period of the previous year, registering a growth of 1,268.8 percent.

Visitors from the U.K. accounted for 23.93 percent of the e-TVs issued during last November, followed by those from the U.S. (16.33 percent), Russia (8.17 percent), France (7.64 percent), Germany (5.6 percent) and Australia (4.82 percent). Canada had a share of 4.71 percent, China 3.26 percent, Ukraine 2.03 percent and the Netherlands 1.75 pe cent.