A string of businesses and young professionals from across Solihull have been shortlisted in Solihull Chamber of Commerce’s 2020 annual awards.The shortlisted firms are vying to win one of eight sector awards at the online ceremony, taking place from 7pm on 15 October.


Headline sponsors for the awards include Solihull College and University Centre, Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council and Gymshark.One of the sector award winners will also be named Solihull Chamber Business of the Year, sponsored by 1TcA.


Esteemed business leaders judged this year’s awards, including newly appointed Greater Birmingham Commonwealth Chamber president Joel Blake, former Sutton Coldfield Chamber of Commerce president, Katie Hale, founder of Prescient Business Consulting, David Thomson and employment law and HR solicitor, Neelam Afzal.


The judging panel was chaired by Greater Birmingham Chambers of Commerce’s chief financial officer Helen Bates.


She said: “We’ve had yet another bumper year of superb award applications from across Solihull.“Our judges had a tough time judging, as everyone was deserving of an accolade.


“However consistent winners shone through in every single category, including the overall Solihull Chamber Business of the Year.”


Those shortlisted include:


Large Business of the Year (Sponsored by Prescient Business Consulting)
Evac + Chair
MAN Commercial Protection
Sydney Mitchell


Small Business of the Year (Sponsored by Few Marquees)
Digital Innovators
Plum Personnel
Wadsworths Solicitors


Start-up Business of the Year (Sponsored by Gymshark)
Home Dine
HR Dept Solihull
Magma Legal Services
The Business System People
The Dietologist


Charity of the Year (Sponsored by Claridge Place)
Adoption Focus
Birmingham & Solihull Women's Aid
St Basils


Contribution to the Community (Sponsored by TOA Taxis)
Eric Lyons
Phoebus Software
Solihull Hospital Charity


Business Person of the Year (Sponsored by Rational FX)
Brad and Spencer Parkes from Specsavers Solihull
Kim Hulse from K Hulse Consulting
Meric Bekin from Bistro Viola


Young Achiever of the Year (Sponsored by Evac + Chair)
Hannah Elsy from Hannah Elsy Productions
Michael Rutherford from ALM Translations


Apprentice of the Year (Sponsored by Performance Through People)
Fran Leonard from Arup
Alexandra Sheldon from Phoebus Software
Chloe Osborne from XOServe
Christopher Kennedy from Digital Innovators
Hannah Brown from XOServe